I originally was going to write my response this week on the importance of research; but I was even boring myself with that topic. “A writer must research” “A writer must know what they are writing about” “A writer needs  their work to be based in facts” Blah, Blah, Blah.  Boringgggg. After attending the hockey playoff game between Quinnipiac and Cornell last night, I had a strong urge to write about fighting in sports.  Or at least my opinion on the subject.

 The No. 1 Quinnipiac Bobcats started the game with a vengeance. Perhaps, it was fueled by their loss from the previous night to the big Red. Regardless of the motivation within twenty-four seconds, Quinnipiac scored the first goal of the game. And they never eased up. The domination continued until the final horn: 10-0.

 You could see the mounting frustration from Cornell. Tempers were rising; they were getting angrier and angrier with their inability to score. In my opinion, the hopelessness they felt after all those goals made the players, in essence, just snap. Then aggression level rose, severely. Even for a contact sport such as hockey, it was reaching an inappropriate level causing the game to turn dirty and out-of-control.   In the second period, an outright brawl erupted on the ice involving almost all of players (minus the goalies). The Cornell men were fighting out of pure frustration and anger. I feel it was a way they thought they could redeem themselves. They could not prove themselves with the puck, so instead, they needed their fists to prove something.

 And what is that something? 

This is what I always wonder in sports. I do not condone physical violence during any sporting event. No matter the score, it should never revert to fighting. To me, it brings up the issue of good sportsmanship. But moreover, physical violence could lead to unnecessary injuries. Luckily, no one was hurt during the numerous fights from last night.

After the initial major outbreak, the fights continued until the very end. I wanted to know the exact number so I dug around for game stats.  According to the official Quinnipiac Men’s Ice Hockey webpage, between the two teams, 34 penalties were served for a total of 184 minutes in the penalty box.  An article on the same website says “It is the most penalties minutes compiled by two teams in ECAC Hockey history, passing the 134 minutes set by Yale and Harvard in 1998 and the second most penalties called in a game since 1985 (39, Clarkson vs. St. Lawrence).”

 Outrageous.

And yet, I know a lot of fans from last night don’t share my sentiment against this excessive fighting. The cheering from the crowd only seemed to egg on the players. I sat silently while others were on their feet BOOing the referees for stopping the unnecessary fighting. From my viewpoint, I don’t see how or why any of this is entertaining or fun to watch.  

*Quinnipiac v Cornell game was held on Saturday March 16, 2013

